The common enemy

I noticed the 8-year old boy, crouching on a bench outside the railway station, observing the world go past him. Though I was sure I had seen him earlier, it took me a while to realize that he lived in the same locality as mine, on the other end of town.

I approached him and asked, “What are you doing here, this late in the evening? Your parents must be worried.”

He looked up with moist eyes and said, “I hope so.”

“What?”

“Every time my parents start fighting with each other I sneak out and run away from home. When they realize I’m gone, they stop fighting and come looking for me. By the time they find me, they’ve forgotten about their petty arguments. It happened unintentionally the first time, but now I know it works for certain.”

“But, that’s crazy. You could get hurt.”

“Not really. The need to fight a common enemy can bring countries & religions together unlike any good can. I’m just a kid keeping his parents together.”

~ “Not all those who wander are lost.” – J.R.R. Tolkien. ~

Leave a comment